Defence of the Realm Halloween Special Article Request

Ghost

Hello everyone.

Now I am an absolute sucker for a good ghost story and with Halloween fast approaching I thought I would combine my passion for writing about British military history and technology with my love of a good spooky tale.

BUT I NEED YOUR HELP TO DO IT.

What I would like is for people to share either their own stories/experiences or ones they have heard that have a military theme. I will give you an example by sharing my own story;

When I was 17 years old I was with the RAF’s Air Training Corps and was undertaking a gliding scholarship at Swansea airport with 636 Volunteer Gliding School. One day in the middle of the week long course we broke for lunch and sat around munching on standard issue soggy sandwiches and drinking 5p cartons of orange juice.

During the course of the conversation one of my bunkmates said that he heard knocking on the side of the portakabin we were staying in the night before. I had heard something similar the night before that but hadn’t thought anything of it. As we sat around talking about it one of the instructors came over and joked that, “Sounds like the ghost came to see you.”

Now…I know its customary for instructors to tease cadets. Heaven knows that I was both a victim of such teasing at first and then later an accomplice as I became a more permanent fixture at the Gliding School. This time however it was clear he was not teasing and he went on to explain about the ghost that supposedly haunts the airport.

The story went that during the Second World War a Polish pilot flying for the RAF was on a training flight and got lost eventually colliding in to a nearby mountain in poor visibility. Since then the spectre of a pilot in World War II flight gear has been seen wandering the flightline at Swansea airport. In some instances it has just been a case of someone catching a glance of him birefly while in other instances he has been seen apparently looking for something (the legend goes that he is trying to find his squadron to report he is back).

How true this story is I cant be certain but I asked around after being told it initially and the same story was repeated to me so it is well known.

That’s just my story. If you have a story please comment below and on 31st October I shall post all the stories in a combined article. I will of course give full credit to whoever posts the comment. If you have more than one encounter/story please feel free to post them all. If anyone would like to reblog this request I would also be very greatful.

Thank you

– Tony

4 responses to “Defence of the Realm Halloween Special Article Request

  1. Reblogged this on The Order of Trinity and commented:

    A second blog i manage involves running articles on British military history. To celebrate Halloween I am trying to comprise a list of true ghostly encounters that have a military theme. Although its a British themed site I would be interested in hearing stories from all over the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

