SITREP – December 2014

Wireless operatorHi everybody.

First of all I would like to thank you all once again for following the site and taking the time to read the articles I have posted. I have had some really positive feedback and this has been both touching and encouraging.

I have decided to make SITREP updates a monthly thing for the site. My plan is to publish one in the middle of each month to allow you guys, the followers, to take a look at what is coming over the next few weeks. As well as hopefully wetting your appetite for more I think it would be an excellent opportunity to call on your own expertise. If you see a topic below that you have information for that you think I may not be aware of then please feel free to comment below. As I have told a few of you now I have learned a lot myself researching topics for articles and that is one of the best things about projects such as this; that we can all learn more together.

I would also like to use SITREP as an opportunity for you to provide general feedback on the site as well as offer any suggestions for future articles. This is your opportunity to tell me what you want and hopefully we can work together to build an extensive database chronicling British and world military history and technology.

So here is December’s update;

  1. I am aware that I am quite bias towards military aviation. Unfortunately it reflects on my own personal history and so it is easier for me to write. I am making more of an effort to include more articles on the Army, Royal Navy and the Royal Marines and have several article ideas that are wandering around my brain waiting to take fruition.
  2. I will be writing the long overdue Part 3 of “A U-Boat in the Royal Navy“. It has been left unacceptably long now and I know some of you are curious to know the final chapter.
  3. I am currently researching the use of an unlikely intelligence gathering aircraft used by the RAF to monitor Soviet Army movements in East Germany – the De Havilland Chipmunk. That’s right the trainer aircraft that thousands of air cadets flew in was used to spy on the Soviets as part of BRIXMIS.
  4. I know a lot of you enjoy the aircraft comparisons and as a pseudo sequel to the “Gloster Gladiator vs. Fiat CR.42 Falco” I am keeping with the North African theme and comparing the Spitfire V to Italy’s MC.202 Folgore – the Ferrari of the skies.
  5. I am going to do a write up on the Chieftain tank compared to the Soviet Union’s T-72 as soon as I can find some reliable sources for data.
  6. I am currently compiling a list of the small arms used by the British military since 1945 and analysing their usage and effectiveness.
  7. I am trying to make more of an effort to keep abreast of the latest military news and there will be far more news updates over the coming weeks.

Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Please feel free to give any feedback. Also don’t forget if you are on Facebook to LIKE the Defence of the Realm page.

Thank you again and seasons greetings to you all.

6 responses to “SITREP – December 2014

  1. With regard to your request for general comments on the site, I would note that I find your site difficult to read. The combination of small white time on the black or dark gray background does not make for an easy read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have some interesting ideas here. I have a real bias towed aviation (as you know) but actually find it interesting and refreshing to read articles about other aspects of the military that I would not necessarily read. Tanks and comparisons are particularly interesting but having a wider range gives a nice variety. Stick with it your ideas are great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

