SITREP – January 2015

WirelessGreetings.

Well it’s a New Year and the site is now passing its sixth month mark. In that time it has developed beyond what I thought it would with a steady stream of hits and regular readers/ commenters. First I would like to thank some of the older hands for sticking with me. Your support has been both gratifying and encouraging. Secondly I would like to take this chance to welcome the newest followers.

For those of you who have never seen a SITREP post before I publish one a month and use it as an opportunity to let you know what I am researching for future posts. If you see anything listed that you think I may not be aware of please don’t hesitate to put something in the comments section. I will of course give full credit to anyone who contributes any information, pictures, etc.

As well as letting you know what I have planned this is also your opportunity to let me know how you think the site is progressing and have your say. Also if you have any recommendations for a future post please feel free to make them in the comments section below.

Also, if any of you are on Facebook please LIKE the Defence of the Realm Facebook page. I regularly update this page with news, links and pictures. This month I have uploaded a host of pictures from my visit to the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm Museum in Yeovilton.

So here is January’s SITREP;

  1. In the comments section of last month’s SITREP I was told that the current format of the site can sometimes be difficult to read. I would like to know how widespread this view is and whether anyone else finds the site difficult to read. If so what exactly is difficult?
  2. If you have any requests for aircraft comparisons then please put them in the comments section below.
  3. I am still working on the Cold War recce Chipmunk article. Sadly it seemed to fall by the wayside due to other articles.
  4. I have been looking back on some of the older posts and I have realized that the way I have laid them out is different to my most recent ones. Therefore I plan to rework them to achieve uniformity across the site.
  5. I am planning to do a double feature on the first and last kills of the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm in World War II. As some of you know I have a certain affinity for the Fleet Air Arm’s story and I think it is one that doesn’t nearly get the attention it deserves.
  6. This month I started writing up on warship classifications with articles on battlecruisers and torpedo boat destroyers. I plan to expand on this with more articles on other types of warship, their role and their use.
  7. Going to the other end of the spectrum I plan to start a series of articles highlighting British small arms and comparing them to other weapons in a similar format to the aircraft comparisons.

Happy New Year to you all

– Tony

10888601_698000950313049_363128243683933339_n

2 responses to “SITREP – January 2015

Leave a Reply

