SITREP – April 2015

Lancaster_wireless_operator_WWII_IWM_CH_8790Welcome to Defence of the Realm’s SITREP for April 2015. For those of you who are new followers and have never seen one of these posts before I would like to welcome you and thank you for giving the site a look. Basically, this is my opportunity to let you you know how the site is doing and the direction it will be taking over the next month. It is also your opportunity to let me know your thoughts on the site in general as well as to offer your own suggestions/input in to any of the projects that are on the horizon.

Well, April is nearly over but what a month it has been. Two major events have taken place in terms of the site over the past month. Firstly, I have set up a Twitter account which although is in my own name it is primarily for the site. Feel free to follow and message me with any comments/suggestions/questions/etc. You can find my Twitter page by clicking here. I look forward to hearing from you.

The second big news of course is the establishment of a Defence of the Realm YouTube page. This has been a goal of mine ever since I started the site. At the moment it is still pretty primitive as I am learning more and more about the technology (and how to stop my voice from droning on too much) but I am hoping that over time this will grow into an informative amateur documentary archive. I am still interested in Podcasting if anyone else would like to join in and if so please message me.

Rest assured however that despite these developments the main site remains my top priority. After three quite intensive months April did go a little quiet and this was due mainly to me becoming quite ill. Nevertheless I am back now and planning my next few articles.

So here’s what’s in store;

  • Following on from my Dreadnoughts article I intend to do more work on the Warships Classification category. I am already planning articles on Flotilla Leaders and Bomb Ships (a type of shore bombardment vessel used up to the 19th century).
  • I am still working on my next aircraft comparison. As I said before it will be a comparison of the British Meteor F.8 and the French Dassault Ouragon. Another comparison I thought might be interesting to cover would be the De Havilland Vampire and the Saab J.21R in what I am calling Battle of the Boom Jets.
  • The Wilkins family are planning a trip to Bovington Tank Museum which I am very excited about. Not sure when it will be yet but it should be over the next few months.
  • Planning to revisit Yeovilton Fleet Air Arm Museum, the Helicopter Museum in Weston-super-mare and the fabulous Jet Age Museum in Gloucester with the goal of recording video for the YouTube site. If you would like to see some of the photos from previous visits then don’t forget to check out the Galleries page.

Well that’s all for the moment.

Thank you again for taking the time to visit the site. Your support is greatly appreciated.

All the best.

Tony Wilkins

Dad and Danni

Dad, you can get out now…

2 responses to “SITREP – April 2015

Leave a Reply

