An Update and an Announcement

Hawker Siddeley Harrier P.1127 XP984 Brooklands (3)

I was recently contacted via Facebook by Dave Cotton regarding P.1127 XP984 at Brooklands Museum in Surrey. He said;

I am leading the team restoring XP984 and the covers are only there until we have made the engine doors and have replaced the wrong wing with the right one!  The Aircraft is going to be stripped of the paint which should not be on her and left with the anodised finish you can see on XP831 in the Science Museum. Just had all the bits belonging to Cosford taken back and a P1127 wing just about fitted to it! We have started to make a new Airbrake/Undercarriage door to replace the missing one.

I am sure I speak for everyone when I say we look forward to seeing this fascinating aircraft restored to its former glory.

 


 

Also, this week marks a significant milestone for Defence of the Realm. On Wednesday the site passed the magic figure of 250,000 hits. I never thought it would ever get to this point and I want to once again thank each and every one of you who take the time to visit the site regularly. Your support has been my inspiration to press on and strive for bigger and better and forge links with fellow bloggers and writers many of whose work you can view by looking at the recommended list on the right hand side of the page.

I will be attending Fortress Wales 2016 on Sunday so hopefully I will have plenty more pictures and videos to share over the coming week.

Thank you again and I wish you all the best.

-Tony Wilkins

8 responses to “An Update and an Announcement

Leave a Reply

